Debate Korea Open (Past Seoul Open) is an international BP debate tournament hosted by Debate Korea and is the largest debate tournament in Korea. Seoul Open 2018, which also served as a dry run for Korea WUDC 2021 with the same debate venue and tournament hotel, was held at KINTEX (Korea International Exhibition Center), the largest convention center in South Korea, and MVL Hotel Goyang, a 5-star hotel only 10-minutes walking distance from the venue.
Past sponsors of Debate Korea Open have included AirAsia, Metropolitan Government of Seoul, Ministry of Education, National Assembly Committee on Foreign Affairs and Unification, National Pension Service, PLAN International, Redbull, and more. Seoul Open 2018’s CAP featured Korea WUDC 2021 Chief Adjudicator Dan Lahav and Convenor Seokho Daniel Yoon as Co-CAs, as well as Cape Town 2019 DCA Steph White, WUDC ESL Finalist Kyungmi Lee, and ABP Champion Sajid Khandaker as DCAs. 100 teams from more than 20 different countries have joined to compete on this global stage with their shared passion for logic, pathos, and debate. Champions of Debate Korea Open have won a free trip to the Maldives and Kuala Lumpur featured by AirAsia. We are happy to invite all of you to Seoul for Korea WUDC 2021, but make sure to stop by beforehand and check out our future Debate Korea Open for a great sneak preview!



This is the Official Welcome Guide of Debate Korea Open 2019. It includes information regarding the specifics.

Please refer to 'Details' below.

Adjudication Core

Adjudication core are members who create everything related to motions. Check out the world-class highly qualified CAP members!


Debaters will be fully engaged in fruitful debates about issues that are significant in the global society in Debate Korea Open 2019.

Excursion Day

We planned Excursion Program in July 22nd, sponsored by Korea Tourism Organization. Participants will have an unforgettable experience to celebrate their effort and passion for the 3 days-long tournament with friends from the world.



KINTEX(Korea International Exhibition Centre) is the largest exhibition center in Gyeonggi Province, a region that embraces Seoul in its center. With very exclusive and luxurious interior, KINTEX will be the  main venue for all nine days of the tournament. The Main Press Center of 2018 Inter-Korean Summit was hosted in the same building, with its state-of-the-art conference facilities and large accommodation capacity. There is free-wifi available at the venue. For dinner, we recommend going to the Hyundai Department Store KINTEX or Goyang Onemount; both are within a few minutes walking distance. We also recommend taking a stroll at Ilsan Lake Park, perhaps the perfect place to be for a quick getaway from the hard-core competition.


We provide accommodations for all participants of Debate Korea Open. Participants will stay at GLAD Hotel Yeouido, a global business hotel brand for smart travelers. For participants’ convenience, 2-way bus to and from Kintex(the main venue) will be provided during all three days of the tournament.

10th floor,128, Dosan-daero, Gangnam-gu, Seoul, Republic of Korea
  • 회색 페이스 북 아이콘
  • 회색 인스 타 그램 아이콘
  • 회색 블로거 아이콘
  • 회색 유튜브 아이콘

Copyright ⓒ 2020 Debate Korea All Rights Reserved.